Mazda CX‌-30 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Mazda CX-30 GT AWD - Soul Red Crystal
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Drove down a road yesterday that has a speed limit of 50. My HUD and dash cluster showed the speed limit as 5.
I came home down the same street to see if it would do it again and it did.
Anyone having problems with reading street signs / speed limits?

Any way to fix/ reboot or address this?
 

·
Registered
Preferred FWD / Deep Crystal Blue Mica
Joined
·
152 Posts
The speed limit comes from the maps on the SD card, have you update the maps on the card?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
98 Posts
Could be the map has an error. Also I've noticed (rarely) that mine picks up nearby roads... like if I'm on the expressway (55 mph) and drive near a service road (30 mph) or an overpass, it occasionally picks up the speed limit for the other road. It quickly goes back to the correct speed though.
 

·
Registered
Preferred FWD / Deep Crystal Blue Mica
Joined
·
152 Posts
Maps and camera
Speed limits are only displayed on the HUD if the Mazda Navigation SD is present. So far as I can tell, this data is coming from the SD card exclusively on the CX-30 and not fed from the on-board cameras as happens with the CX-9 here in the US.
 

·
Registered
2020 Mazda CX-30 GT AWD - Soul Red Crystal
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The speed limit comes from the maps on the SD card, have you update the maps on the card?
Didn’t think I’d need to update yet. I’ve only had the car for a few weeks.

the speed on the particular road is 50km and It reported correctly just not the one night where it kept switching to 5km

I tested again today and it posted correctly. Just a glitch I guess.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Drove down a road yesterday that has a speed limit of 50. My HUD and dash cluster showed the speed limit as 5.
I came home down the same street to see if it would do it again and it did.
Anyone having problems with reading street signs / speed limits?

Any way to fix/ reboot or address this?
Could be the map has an error. Also I've noticed (rarely) that mine picks up nearby roads... like if I'm on the expressway (55 mph) and drive near a service road (30 mph) or an overpass, it occasionally picks up the speed limit for the other road. It quickly goes back to the correct speed though.
yes this is the same thing I experienced , also the last road I come down is a 50klm sign and then l park my car at work , each day when l start car it displays 100klm ? The nearest 100klm zone is 2 klms away , doesn’t bother me and changes back to 50klm after I travel 100 meters down the road even though there is no speed sign , my understanding was that it has sign recognition but someone posted speed zones are taken from gps maps ? ? Not a big deal to me but might be to some
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Didn’t think I’d need to update yet. I’ve only had the car for a few weeks.

the speed on the particular road is 50km and It reported correctly just not the one night where it kept switching to 5km

I tested again today and it posted correctly. Just a glitch I guess.
according to this Mazda the latest maps update for your region is December 6, 2019, so you better check with the available tool whether you need to update or not because as far as I can understand, all these speed limits along with all maps info are displayed by the HUD and not read by the camera.

I too noticed hiccups here and there, my latest update is July 2019 so I expect some improvement when available from the update.
 

·
Registered
2020 Mazda CX-30 GT AWD - Soul Red Crystal
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
according to this Mazda the latest maps update for your region is December 6, 2019, so you better check with the available tool whether you need to update or not because as far as I can understand, all these speed limits along with all maps info are displayed by the HUD and not read by the camera.

I too noticed hiccups here and there, my latest update is July 2019 so I expect some improvement when available from the update.
Thanks Dan ..
I’ll look into it.
I should be fine my car was factory ordered after February 24, 2020
 

·
Registered
Preferred FWD / Deep Crystal Blue Mica
Joined
·
152 Posts
Thanks Dan ..
I’ll look into it.
I should be fine my car was factory ordered after February 24, 2020
I think you you miss understand about the updates, the car is not updated, the maps that come on the SD card are the ones that get updated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
I think you you miss understand about the updates, the car is not updated, the maps that come on the SD card are the ones that get updated.
Probably he did not but I guess even though the manufacturing date is Feb this doesn't necessarily mean that the maps are updated so is worth checking.
 

·
Registered
2020 Mazda CX-30 GT AWD - Soul Red Crystal
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I think you you miss understand about the updates, the car is not updated, the maps that come on the SD card are the ones that get updated.
I understand now that it’s the card itself that needs updating.

I’ve never had a Mazda before or a car with an SD card ...also got this car during covid so no tutorial or questions I could ask.

they didn’t even instal the nav card for me. I found it thrown in the glovebox

Will the dealership do updates for customers or do we always have to do this on our own?

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
I understand now that it’s the card itself that needs updating.

I’ve never had a Mazda before or a car with an SD card ...also got this car during covid so no tutorial or questions I could ask.

they didn’t even instal the nav card for me. I found it thrown in the glovebox

Will the dealership do updates for customers or do we always have to do this on our own?

Cheers
The SD Card is super easy to update, just look at the link I posted, download the tool, follow the steps, perform a backup as well.
For the infotainment update, ideally is to go to the dealer although I don't think he'd ever call you for that unless you will request it, I owned 2 mazda before, they never called me, I've done it myself as well as for this model but it is risky, you must know what to do it although isn't very hard.
 

·
Registered
2020 Mazda CX-30 GT AWD - Soul Red Crystal
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
The SD Card is super easy to update, just look at the link I posted, download the tool, follow the steps, perform a backup as well.
For the infotainment update, ideally is to go to the dealer although I don't think he'd ever call you for that unless you will request it, I owned 2 mazda before, they never called me, I've done it myself as well as for this model but it is risky, you must know what to do it although isn't very hard.
it seems fairly straight forward with the tool box download. Make an account and the download any updates.
thank you for your patience and guidance. Much appreciated.
the cx30 is amazing so far.

👍🏻🚗
 

·
Registered
Preferred FWD / Deep Crystal Blue Mica
Joined
·
152 Posts
they didn’t even instal the nav card for me. I found it thrown in the glovebox
I am surprise, even though I knew how everything worked in the car the Mazda dealer here when over everything with me. They setup my phone, radio stations, MyMazda app for my phone & and how to load the SD card once I got it and how to update it.
Also if you have not done already go here and sign up as a owner
CONNECT TO A MORE PERSONAL OWNERSHIP EXPERIENCE
 

·
Registered
2020 Mazda CX-30 GT AWD - Soul Red Crystal
Joined
·
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I am surprise, even though I knew how everything worked in the car the Mazda dealer here when over everything with me. They setup my phone, radio stations, MyMazda app for my phone & and how to load the SD card once I got it and how to update it.
Also if you have not done already go here and sign up as a owner
CONNECT TO A MORE PERSONAL OWNERSHIP EXPERIENCE
I attribute some of the misses due to Covid19. When I picked up my car the showroom was closed and they said they weren’t allowed to give any tutorial.

things that aren’t ok was my nav card just thrown in the glove box for me to find on own. My tire pressure wasn’t checked or at the proper setting and my windshield fluid upon myown inspection was really low so I filled it up.

i Will check out the link and sign up.
Thank you again for your insightful information.
 

·
Registered
Preferred FWD / Deep Crystal Blue Mica
Joined
·
152 Posts
Could be the map has an error. Also I've noticed (rarely) that mine picks up nearby roads... like if I'm on the expressway (55 mph) and drive near a service road (30 mph) or an overpass, it occasionally picks up the speed limit for the other road. It quickly goes back to the correct speed though.
Please remember the Maps get the location from the car's GPS, and the car's GPS can be off up to 26 ft. or more.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
  1. Speed limits are only displayed on the HUD if the Mazda Navigation SD is present. So far as I can tell, this data is coming from the SD card exclusively on the CX-30 and not fed from the on-board cameras as happens with the CX-9 here in the US.
    I’m in Australia and today I went down a high way that because of road works the HUD changed at each sign 100 klm to 80 klm 60 klm and 40 klm then at end of roadworks back to 100klm so this indicates to me that it’s the camera sign recognition that activates the HUD , on off ramps that had a speed sign of 60 klms it picked that up as I passed them but quickly changed back to highway speed
 

·
Registered
Preferred FWD / Deep Crystal Blue Mica
Joined
·
152 Posts

  1. I’m in Australia and today I went down a high way that because of road works the HUD changed at each sign 100 klm to 80 klm 60 klm and 40 klm then at end of roadworks back to 100klm so this indicates to me that it’s the camera sign recognition that activates the HUD , on off ramps that had a speed sign of 60 klms it picked that up as I passed them but quickly changed back to highway speed
Not sure if you misunderstood my post, I am talking about the sign limit warning on the center display not the speed of the car. Yes the speed of the car will change on the heads up display.

Speed limit warning (Only some countries and regions)Maps may contain information about the speed limits of the roads. The navigation system is able to warn you if you exceed the current limit. This information may not be available for your region (ask your local dealer), or may not be fully correct for all roads on the map.

Except vehicles with Active Driving Display (Windshield type)The speed warning can be set from the Warnings Settings (page 69). Setting can be selected using “Warnings Settings” → “Speeding”:• Audio and Visuals warning: You will hear a warning beep with visuals if you exceed the speed limit by a certain percentage. • Visual Alerts: If you exceed the speed limit on a road, the speed limit for the current road is shown on the map or on the active driving display.You can also choose to see the speed limit sign on the map all the time.

Vehicles with Active Driving Display (Windshield type)1. Select the “Settings” on the home screen to display the Settings screen.2. Select the “Active Driving Display” menu.3. Select the “Speed Limit Alert” on the screen to select the item you would like to change
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top