Mazda CX‌-30 Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I'm new to this forum. (I'm also new to Mazda!)

I'm trying to decide between the Preferred and Premium. My only reason for the Premium would be for the Polymetal Gray color and the adaptive headlights.

The only thing holding me back is the power liftgate on the Premium. I have a strange fear it will break. This fear isn't based on reviews, complaints, recalls, etc. Just paranoid one day I'll need to open/close the trunk, and it won't open/close.

Wanted to get some thoughts from you all about the durability of the power liftgate. Also, is it possible to convert the power liftgate to manual?

I plan to keep the vehicle a while if I bought it, so the durability is on my mind. I've driven my current car for 19 years!

Thanks all.

·
Registered
2021 CX-30 GT AWD - Machine Grey Metallic
72 Posts
The power liftgate on this car is one of its more useless features, and one I'd give up in a heartbeat for something like cooled seats. Any power liftgate that does not open with a kick or proximity sensor makes no sense. I walk up to my car with my hands full of grocery bags and...put them down on the ground so I can either press the button on the remote or touch the release button on the liftgate? And then I have to wait for it to go up? A manual is the best solution here in that case, since I had to put the bags down anyway. I don't like parking right close to the store, so opening the gate before I leave the store is not an option, and if you are using a cart, there's still no purpose of the remote liftgate over the manual one.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3