Mazda CX‌-30 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone here have any experience with (Mazda) TPMS sensors, specifically what would I look for in a sensor to work with the CX-30. Are all 315 Mhz sensors the same? With two sets of sensors, will the system need reprogramed each time I change wheels?
I intend to buy new summer wheels and tires. I will use my OE wheels to mount dedicated snow tires. The new wheels will require new sensors, the OE's will retain what they have.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Got these for my aftermarket wheels and they programmed no problem. Your shop will need an Autel tool. My guy cloned the program from a CX-9 since the CX-30 program wasn’t available
535
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nice, thanks!
That gives me a place to start. I looked up Autel, they have a small handheld for TPMS sensors. I was having issues getting the spec pages to load, I may have to call or email them on the specifics of the tool.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
The extract from the owner's manual below sets out the instructions to "code" new sensors to the car without the manufacturer's "box of tricks". Mazda do not put a condition on whose sensors can be used like this but is it safe to assume this?. AFAIK since the system uses radio transmissions to retrieve pressures there should be some manufacturer's certification in the documents supplied with a new car that will reveal who the OEM manufacturer is. My car is currently at the dealers so I can't check but I think they are made by Continental. Shrader site at https://catalogue.schradertpms.com/en-GB/mazda/cx-30/2019-11_2024-10.html shows Continental as the OEM supplier

When changing the tyres or wheels
(such as installing winter tyres), it will
be necessary to register the ID signal
code of the tyre pressure sensor to the
TPMS.
Have an expert repairer, we
recommend an Authorised Mazda
Repairer do the registration or register
the ID signal codes of the tyre pressure
sensors using the following procedure.
NOTE
The tyre pressure sensors on each wheel
have a unique ID signal code. For the
TPMS to operate correctly, the ID signal
codes of the tyre pressure sensors need
to be registered to the system.
1. Wait more than 19 minutes after
changing a tyre or wheel.
2. After more than 19 minutes have
passed, drive the vehicle at a speed
of about 25 km/h (16 mph) or
faster for 3 minutes or longer. While
driving, the ID signal codes of the
tyre pressure sensors are
automatically registered.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
sorry to revive this thread, but has anyone figured out the best course of action here? Can any aftermarket sensor do the trick as long as it's the same frequency as the OEM for the region?
 

·
Registered
2020 Mazda CX30 Soul Red Select AWD
Joined
·
133 Posts
The extract from the owner's manual below sets out the instructions to "code" new sensors to the car without the manufacturer's "box of tricks". Mazda do not put a condition on whose sensors can be used like this but is it safe to assume this?. AFAIK since the system uses radio transmissions to retrieve pressures there should be some manufacturer's certification in the documents supplied with a new car that will reveal who the OEM manufacturer is. My car is currently at the dealers so I can't check but I think they are made by Continental. Shrader site at Schrader TPMS: Mazda CX-30 2019-11 2024-10 shows Continental as the OEM supplier

When changing the tyres or wheels
(such as installing winter tyres), it will
be necessary to register the ID signal
code of the tyre pressure sensor to the
TPMS.
Have an expert repairer, we
recommend an Authorised Mazda
Repairer do the registration or register
the ID signal codes of the tyre pressure
sensors using the following procedure.
NOTE
The tyre pressure sensors on each wheel
have a unique ID signal code. For the
TPMS to operate correctly, the ID signal
codes of the tyre pressure sensors need
to be registered to the system.
1. Wait more than 19 minutes after
changing a tyre or wheel.
2. After more than 19 minutes have
passed, drive the vehicle at a speed
of about 25 km/h (16 mph) or
faster for 3 minutes or longer. While
driving, the ID signal codes of the
tyre pressure sensors are
automatically registered.
I might just run my winter tires and wheels without sensors. However is this saying you do not need a computer to connect them to the car? You just drive with them on as stated above? How would it know the location of each tire?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
You just drive with them on as stated above? How would it know the location of each tire?
I had the same question - although the CX 30 manual doesn't go into the specifics, owners from other makes that have a similar TPMS registration process (or lack thereof) say their cars have individual receivers near/in each wheelwell to pick up the strongest signal.

I called a couple local Mazda dealers and they couldn't answer to that level of detail...maybe try your dealers and see if someone knows? I imagine it must be the same implementation - a central unit couldn't possibly differentiate the location of individual sensors?
 

·
Registered
2020 CX-30 GS AWD polymetal grey
Joined
·
9 Posts
I had the same question - although the CX 30 manual doesn't go into the specifics, owners from other makes that have a similar TPMS registration process (or lack thereof) say their cars have individual receivers near/in each wheelwell to pick up the strongest signal.

I called a couple local Mazda dealers and they couldn't answer to that level of detail...maybe try your dealers and see if someone knows? I imagine it must be the same implementation - a central unit couldn't possibly differentiate the location of individual sensors?
Which makes sense if the system automatically sync the wheels, like after a tire rotation your front wheels go to the rear. The Mazda dealer should be able to tell you if they have to reprogram the TPMS after a tire rotation or not?

Assuming this is the case, so we know the OEM TPMS would work automatically..... What about the aftermarket ones?

This is the first car I'm having with TPMS. I don't have any experience with them 😚
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I had the same question - although the CX 30 manual doesn't go into the specifics, owners from other makes that have a similar TPMS registration process (or lack thereof) say their cars have individual receivers near/in each wheelwell to pick up the strongest signal.

I called a couple local Mazda dealers and they couldn't answer to that level of detail...maybe try your dealers and see if someone knows? I imagine it must be the same implementation - a central unit couldn't possibly differentiate the location of individual sensors?
I have a 2017 Silverado with TPMS, each wheel has a pressure sensor/transmitter. What I understand about the operation, there is a single body control module that receives a unique signal from each of the four wheel sensors. These sensors have to be programed in a specific order (LF, RF, RR, LR) through the control module so the system "knows" the location of each wheel.
If you were to rotate the tires without reprogramming the system, the on-dash readout will not reflect the actual location of each tire/wheel.
 

·
Registered
2020 Preferred Snowflake AWD
Joined
·
237 Posts
I'm not aware of a way to "reset" the TPMS programming on this car after a tire rotation, etc.

Based on my recent tire rotation experience, the sensors auto adjust after a few miles.

I'll send a text to the dealership.
 

·
Registered
2020 CX-30 GS AWD polymetal grey
Joined
·
9 Posts
Any update on this? Can I get any 315Mhz aftermarket TPMS? (or the ones that are for Mazda 3/any CX but CX-30)
 

·
Registered
2020 Preferred Snowflake AWD
Joined
·
237 Posts
Any update on this? Can I get any 315Mhz aftermarket TPMS? (or the ones that are for Mazda 3/any CX but CX-30)
I got these for my winter wheels. They are Mazda OEM and are already pre-programmed. Generic aftermarket sensors won't come pre-programmed.
1023
 

·
Registered
Mazda CX-30 2020, Soul Red
Joined
·
24 Posts
So you just install those tpms on the wheels and the cx-30 will just detect them after a while since they are preprogrammed?
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top