Mazda CX‌-30 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2022 2.5T Premium Plus
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noticed this in the 2022 Owner's Manual:

"After driving at freeway speeds or up a long hill, idle the engine at least 30 seconds before stopping it. Otherwise, the turbocharger could be damaged."

I'm curious if anyone has any insight into this? I don't like these kind of statements because they are so vague. For example, how LONG after driving highway speeds or going up a long hill?

If I drive to work, come off the interstate, and then navigate city streets for a few minutes, do I still need to worry about damaging the turbocharger if I don't idle for 30 seconds?

I half wonder if these kind of statements are for corner cases that can cause damage that they don't want to cover under the warranty, so they put an overly broad statement in the manual to cover their asses.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I’m no mechanic, but from what I’ve read in the past this is to help cool the turbo down. Oil deposits (“coking”) can build up from the turbo getting really hot from harder driving then being shut off quickly and stopping the oil from circulating, so letting things cool off a bit can help mitigate that.

Does highway driving or driving up long hills fit in the “hard driving” category? Guess it depends if you’re sunday driving vs trying to outrun the cops. We drive up a long, steep hill (about 4 miles at 10% grade) to get home, so I let the engine idle for a few seconds after pulling into the garage. Even though there’s about half a mile of slow driving between the last of the uphill section to our driveway.

·
Registered
22 CX 30 Turbo GT & 22 3 in Soul Red
240 Posts
Not sure how they could prove you didn’t let your turbo cool down to deny a warranty claim.